Public-facing event of the Global Citizenship Commission

A distinguished United Nations committee is visiting Bonn. The Global Citizenship Commission will make an appearance at the Rheinische Friendrich-Wilhelems-University in Bonn on Friday, May 30, 2014.

The Global Citizenship Commission of the United Nations (UN) meets at Bonn University on Friday, May 30 2014. Chaired by the former British Prime Minister, Gordon Brown, the star-studded committee is instructed by the UN General Secretary Ban Ki-moon to revise the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights. At a public-facing event in the Aula of the University, the committee will inform the public about its activities offering an opportunity for questions and comments.

The members of the Global Citizenship Commission represent different nations and intellectual fields, such as Politics, Religion, Law and the Sciences. Gordon Brown, the former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, chairs the committee.  Among those taking part in the Bonn meeting there are the Nobel Peace Prize winner and former director of the International Atomic Energy Agency Mohamed El Baradei,  the former president of Ghana John Kufuor, a South African constitutional lawyer Kate O’Regan, and the founder of the international citizenship movement Avaaz, Ricken Patel.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights was announced in 1948 by the General Assembly of the United Nations and currently represents the most fundamental expression of human rights. The long-awaited inaugural meeting of the Global Citizenship Commission took place in Edinburgh in 2013. Upon the invitation of the International Centre for Philosophy NRW, the second working session of the Commission is going to take place in Bonn.

On behalf of the International Centre for Philosophy NRW we are inviting you most cordially to the public facing of the Global Citizenship Commission.

This event is organised in cooperation with the New York University (NYU) and with financial support of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation, of the German Centre for Ethics in the Biological Sciences (DRZE) and the Institute for Science and Ethics (IWE).

Here you find the poster.

Date: 30/05/2014
Location: Aula of Bonn University
1. level, lift available
Am Hof 1, 53113 Bonn

Öffentliche Veranstaltung der Global Citizenship Commission

Ein hochrangiges UN-Gremium zu Gast in Bonn. Die Global Citizenship Commission präsentiert sich an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität.

Die Global Citizenship Commission der Vereinten Nationen (UN) tagt am Freitag, den 30. Mai 2014, im Hauptgebäude der Universität Bonn. Das hochkarätig besetzte Gremium soll im Auftrag von UN-Generalsekretär Ban Ki-moon die „Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte“ aus dem Jahre 1948 einer Revision unterziehen und gegebenenfalls Korrekturen und Aktualisierungen vorschlagen. In einer öffentlichen Veranstaltung in der Aula wird die Kommission über ihre Tätigkeit Auskunft geben. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und Kommentare anzubringen. Alle Interessierten sind herzlich eingeladen.

Die Kommission setzt sich aus international führenden Vertretern aus den Bereichen Politik und Religion, Recht und Wissenschaft zusammen. Den Vorsitz hat der ehemalige Premierminister des Vereinigten Königreichs, Gordon Brown. Neben diesem nehmen an der Bonner Arbeitssitzung unter anderem auch der ägyptische Diplomat, frühere Generaldirektor der Internationalen Atomenergieorganisation und Friedensnobelpreisträger Mohamed El Baradei, der ehemalige Präsident von Ghana, John Kufuor, sowie die frühere südafrikanische Verfassungsrichterin Kate O’Regan und der Gründer der internationalen Bürgerbewegung Avaaz, Ricken Patel, teil.

Die „Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte“ wurde 1948 von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen verkündet und stellt bis heute den fundamentalen Ausdruck menschlicher Rechte und Würde dar. Nach der viel beachteten Auftaktsitzung der Kommision im vergangenen Jahr in Edinburgh findet auf Einladung des an der Universität Bonn angesiedelten Internationalen Zentrums für Philosophie NRW die zweite Arbeitssitzung der Kommission nunmehr in Bonn statt.

Im Namen des Internationalen Zentrums für Philosophie NRW laden wir Sie ganz herzlich ein zu dieser öffentlichen Veranstaltung der Global Citizenship Commission. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bei dieser Gelegenheit begrüßen zu dürfen.

Die Veranstaltung findet in Zusammenarbeit mit der New York University und mit Unterstützung der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, des Deutschen Referenzzentrums für Ethik in den Biowissenschaften (DRZE) und des Instituts für Wissenschaft und Ethik (IWE) statt.

Hier finden Sie das Plakat.

Datum: 30.05.2014
Veranstaltungsort: Aula der Universität Bonn
1. Etage, Aufzug vorhanden
Am Hof 1, 53113 Bonn